What’s For Lunch? Peppered Shrimp Bento Box


ShrimpBentoBox

UPC’s Peppered Shrimp Bento Box

It’s cool and rainy outside. There isn’t a lot of rain, but the rain drops that are coming down are generally bigger ones. I love weather like this for running; there’s really nothing quite as refreshing as the brisk feel of a light wind and some fat cool raindrops falling on my face, head, and shoulders while I pump out a speed workout on the track! Unfortunately, that’s not what I’m doing right now, and may not be something I get a chance to do anytime soon. I say “unfortunately” because I really enjoy speed workouts, and even more when I get to enjoy weather like this!

On the more fortunate side, I have a delicious lunch to look forward to! My morning conversation with my wife, as with most mornings, went about like this:

Me: What do you want for lunch?

Wife: I dunno, whaddya got?

Me: Mmmm…

I peered about in the fridge, knowing that the soup I made last night was unsuitable for lunch today. There wasn’t a convenient Rack of Ribs sitting around for us to eat, like we did on Monday. So I pulled out one of my old-standby meals: Peppered Shrimp. It went over the first time I made it for lunch, shrimp travels well, and it still tastes good after being reheated (at least, the first day). It was just right!

UPC’s Peppered Shrimp Bento Box; What you’ll need:

  • Peppered Shrimp:
  • 1 lb Wild-Caught Shrimp (mine is frozen)
  • 2 tablespoons Coconut Oil
  • 2 tablespoons Fresh Ground Black Pepper (more or less)
  • Salad:
  • Mixed Greens (your favorite mix; this is a “Power Greens” mix)
  • 1 medium Cucumber, chopped
  • 1 medium Carrot, chipped
  • 4 White Button Mushrooms, sliced
  • 1/2 cup Celery, sliced
  • 2 tablespoons Olive Oil
  • Avocados:
  • 1 Avocado, chopped
  • 3 sprigs Basil, chopped

Serves: 2
Prep time: 25 minutes

1. Put the shrimp in a pan with the coconut oil and cook it on high heat.

2. Cook this for about 5-7 minutes, letting it thaw and cooking off the water from the thawing. Stir regularly while cooking.

3. While the shrimp is cooking, begin preparing your salad.

4. After 5-7 minutes of cook time, when the shrimp is mostly thawed, sprinkle the pepper across the shrimp liberally.

5. Continue preparation of the salad and avocados.

6. Continue to cook and stir the shrimp until the water has all boiled off and the shrimp is sizzling like bacon in the pan.

7. Let the shrimp cool in the pan, stirring occasionally.

8. While the shrimp cools, complete preparation of the salad, pack it in your bento box, and enjoy!

Questions:

  • Do you ever have trouble figuring out what to eat for lunch?
  • What do you pull out of the fridge, freezer, or cupboard as a stand-by meal?
  • Do you ever take a shrimp meal to work as your lunch?
  • Do you like running in the rain?
  • If you do workout in the rain, do you prefer running, or another workout?

5 thoughts on “What’s For Lunch? Peppered Shrimp Bento Box

  1. Pingback: What’s For Lunch? Peppered Shrimp Bento Box | Paleo Digest

  2. I love, Love, LOVE to cycle in the rain, the more torrential the better. I used to cycle everywhere. In the winter, I arrived at work warmer and dryer than anyone else in the building. Full waterproofs and a change of shoes = no soggy trouser legs or damp feet in the office.

    • Yes! You get it! So many people look at me like I’m nuts – but I know what they’re missing… Does that make me weird, or them? Eh… Who cares! I love it, and I’m not going to stop no matter what they say!

  3. I can’t believe that you make your wife’s lunch. That’s awesome! Haha… but in saying that, my husband did make lunch for me a few times when we first got married. He leaves me to my own devices now 😉 This shrimp looks delicious!

    • I make her all meals, every day! She makes about 1 meal per month, and I do all of the rest of the cooking. I even plan ahead for nights when I’m out of the house – and either leave food cooking in a slow-cooker, or cook extra for dinner the night before so that there will be leftovers.

      Thanks! The shrimp was amazing! I was worried that it wouldn’t keep well between when I cooked it (7AM) and when we ate it. I’m always wary of how well seafood keeps… But it worked out!

Leave a Reply

