What’s For Dinner? Slab Bacon and Steak Heaped with Caramelized Onions


BeefAndBacon

Slab Bacon, Steak Heaped with Caramelized Onions, and Avocado

If your mouth is watering just looking at that picture, you’re not alone. As much as I enjoyed the food, looking at it is almost as good – believe it or not! I had had a hard day at work, as had my wife. We were both coming home a bit late; my wife a bit later than me. So, what better way to unwind at the end of a really long day than with some of the most savory of the savory food category? Well, this slab bacon, as I’ve mentioned in my Slab Bacon Bacon Project Post, has been treating me and my wife every bit as well as it did when we first bought it and tried it. Without a doubt, this is the best commercial bacon we’ve had the pleasure of eating.

This meal does very well with additional cook time, so if you know that dinner may be delayed, this is a great meal to allow to simply keep cooking on a lower temperature. It’s a great meal to prepare for dinner parties, allowing the host to let dinner time be socially dictated, rather than when the dinner bell rings (it also allows the friends who got caught in traffic get there and still eat with everyone else!).

What you’ll need:

  • 1 lb Slab Bacon
  • 1 lb Grass-Fed Rib Eye Steak (can use other cuts)
  • 2 medium Onions, chopped
  • 1 large Avocado
  • Spices: Turmeric, Black Pepper (fresh ground), “Herb De Provence” spice mix

Serves: 2-4 (depending on how hungry you are…)
Cook and prep time: 70 minutes

1. Heat the steak up in a pan on high until the steak is sizzling loudly.

2. Turn the heat down to medium-low, about 3 out of 10, and as soon as the sizzling stops, flip the steak.

3. Put the slab bacon in a separate pan and cook, covered, on medium-low heat, or about 3 out of 10.

4. Add the chopped onions around the steak in the steak pan.
Optional: Using 4-5 medium chopped onions, you can cook them in the bacon pan instead. This will produce leftover caramelized onions for quite a few meals.

5. Spice the steak liberally and cover the pan allowing the steak to cook.

6. Lay the bacon down on a new side every 10 minutes.

7. About 5 minutes before meal time, turn the steak pan up to high heat, take the steak out, and stir the onions thoroughly.

8. Alternately leaving the steak on top of the onions, and stirring, keep the onions cooking and stirring for 5 minutes on high heat.

Now serve and enjoy!

Questions:

  • What is your favorite dinner-party meal?
  • Which is the “Side Dish” in this meal: the steak, or the slab bacon?
  • Would you use something other than caramelized onions? How would you cook them?
  • How do you and your friends determine dinner time during dinner parties? When the food is ready, or when the guests are ready?
  • What kinds of drinks would you serve with this meal? Any specific brand/year?
  • Is there a difference between friends for dinner parties, and family? Do you cook differently? Do you clean, or set a different table?

16 thoughts on “What’s For Dinner? Slab Bacon and Steak Heaped with Caramelized Onions

  1. 1. bacon wrapped anything. 2. the steak, definitely. 3. caramelized onions are tasty, would do differently, maybe add some horseradish, but I’m silly like that. 4. the food. 5. red wine. 6. no difference.

    • 1. I’m so with you! The words “Bacon wrapped” can preceed almost anything and make it divine! I draw the line at beans. If someone wanted to feed me bacon wrapped tofu, I wouldn’t be able to be friends with them anymore!!
      2. LOL! I love it! I’m reading your comment like there’s a “Why are you even asking… isn’t it obvious?” tone in your voice!
      3. Well, I’ve made this very meal twice in the past 4 days, and the second time I mixed in some smoked habanero hot sauce (all home made, including smoking the habanero peppers). I agree – the heat added a lot of flavor! Horseradish would probably be just as exciting!
      4. Rock on! I’m right there with you! I usually try to make things that are someone fungible in terms of serving time; but at some point I just don’t care anymore… ๐Ÿ™‚
      5. Me too – there’s not much that red wine doesn’t go with! Also: Coconut water!

      • Thanks! The smoked habanero is definitely delicious! It’s a challenging topping too, in that it’s so tasty that I want to eat a lot of it, but my mouth really doesn’t want that… I like it when my food challenges me!

  2. Pingback: Whatโ€™s For Dinner? Slab Bacon and Steak Heaped with Caramelized Onions | Paleo Digest

    • Yum – adding mushrooms to the onions is a great idea Paul! It would bulk up the sauce, and spread out the flavor a lot, and depending on the mushroom, it would add a bit of it’s own flavor as well! Good call!

    • As for the strip of bacon around a filet: I know why they do it that way… I did a bacon wrapped steak the other day. It was astonishingly delicious; but it wasn’t picture friendly at all! In order to make it look good, you either need not very much bacon, or it needs to be cooked separately.

    • It’s a most delicious thick cut of bacon!! I highly recommend you giving yourself a slab-bacon break soon!

      No need for a workout for fatty cuts of meat. Our bodies handle fat and meat quite effectively. It’s the carbs and sugars that you need to worry about, and exercise off.
      This is one of the reasons that you rarely see dessert dishes on my blog – I only rarely eat desserts. And my daily carb/sugar intake is quite low: in the range of 50-75 grams per day, total. By keeping my carb intake low, I can workout only when I want to, keeping all of my workouts focused on enjoyment and quality, rather than feeling like I need quantity for weight maintenance. Take a look at the links section on my About Me page. There is some great info about the affect of diet on your body composition.

      • It’s not easy, that’s for sure! Carbs are added to EVERYTHING, so staying away from sugar, grains, and beans (the three biggest sources of carbs in our diets) is quite a challenge! The best way to do it is to simply eat only home-made food. Fortunately, I really like my food!!

Leave a Reply

