UPC’s Pocket Guide To: Sprucing up your Leftovers


ChickenCroquetteLeftovers

Sprucing Up Your Leftovers – Today’s meal: Chicken Croquette

As you may or may not recall, I made some Paleo Crispy Chicken Croquettes last week. They came out delicious, and my wife immediately started to get excited about what other ways we could start to re-incorporate chicken in our diets. Truth be told: we eat very little white meat. Most of what we eat, as what you see me post recipes about, is red meat. It is not uncommon in the UPC household to eat a healthy serving (6-10 ounces) each meal. In fact, the only time we ever really indulge in chicken or turkey is either as a salad meat, or in a sausage. There are some really delicious chicken sausage flavors sold at Trader Joe’s, and I definitely see myself continuing to patronize their chicken-sausage shelf!

So using the Paleo Crispy Chicken Croquettes I made last week, I made several meals for myself and my wife throughout the week and weekend. These Paleo Crispy Chicken Croquettes were absolutely delicious (and perhaps better!) when they were reheated for subsequent meals. We ate them for breakfast, lunch, and dinner; not consecutively, of course.
In the above picture you’ll see that I roasted up some carrots in coconut oil for several minutes, and then served the carrots over some mixed salad greens with the re-heated Paleo Crispy Chicken Croquettes. The meal was quick, delicious, and easy; and best of all, it was completely home-made!

So back to today’s topic: Sprucing up leftovers.

Here are some simple steps you can take to turn some leftovers in to an appetizing and delicious meal:

1. For meat leftovers: Add greens, the add colorful veggies.

  • More often than not, the leftovers in my refrigerator consist of the uneaten meat from my last meal. In fact, I frequently make quite a bit more than my wife and I will consume, specifically for the leftovers.
  • Step 1: Add some greens. These could be in the form of salad greens or cooked veggies, but the first thing you add to a meat leftover meal is something green.
  • Step 2: Add some colorful vegetables. A great way to satisfy both of these requirements would be to mix up a quick tomato, avocado, and arugula salad, and serve it alongside your leftover beef or other meat. In today’s picture, you see the green salad base with roasted carrots.

2. For cooked vegetables: Add a protein source.

  • When I have vegetables left over from a meal, 90% of the time it’s a cooked vegetable. Again, like when I cook up extra meat when I’m cooking, I often prepare extra vegetables as well.
  • Step 1: Add a protein source. For me, I often save my leftover cooked vegetables for my Salad Eggs the next morning. There is little I enjoy more than a delicious Salad Eggs meal to start off my day. And what easier way to do it than with vegetables already prepared from the night before?
  • Step 2: Add some more vegetables. When I am not making Salad Eggs with my leftover vegetables, I am adding them to a salad, or serving them alongside a meat dish. In either case, this usually means that I’ll need salad greens to complete my plate.

3. For raw vegetables: Cook them, then add more greens and a protein source.

  • It is very, very rare that I ever prepare more raw vegetables than I’m going to eat. In those rare occasions, I’m most likely to cook whatever vegetables are left over from my previous meal.
  • Option 1: Make a soup, Salad Eggs, or an omelet. A great way to use raw vegetable leftovers is in a soup. Cooking the vegetables in water will rehydrate them, hiding any wilting that may have happened in between your food prep for the previous meal and the current meal. I love making a soup or salad eggs with leftover vegetables.
  • Option 2: Make a salad. This can work very well with a Hot & Cold Salad, where you cook up some of the ingredients of the meal (along with a protein source), and serve the salad all mixed together, combining the cooked flavors with the raw flavors.

I highly recommend making enough food to have some leftovers each night for dinner. It can make meal-prep for Breakfast and Lunch so much easier than the daunting task of preparing and making 2 meals for yourself (and your family) all while getting ready for work and catching up on the tweets and facebook updates from the night before. Leftovers can save an impressive amount of time when faced with all of those priorities in an already-tight morning scheduled.

Questions:

  • Do you make extra food intentionally for leftovers?
  • How do you deal with your leftovers when you have them?
  • Do you make a whole extra meal of leftovers, or do you selectively make leftovers from specific portions of your meal?

9 thoughts on “UPC’s Pocket Guide To: Sprucing up your Leftovers

  1. Pingback: UPC’s Pocket Guide To: Sprucing up your Leftovers | Paleo Digest

  2. You are very creative with leftovers!
    I also love your idea with the pulled pork. I have done it several time with chicken, pork steak and egg plant. My aunt loves to cook in big portion when she cooks for us. There will always be leftovers! 😀

    • Thank you – I have to be! It’s quite difficult to be a picky eater if you’re buying your meals from someone else… The only good option is to make your own food; but with a full-time job, who has the time?! Solution: leftovers!

      Yeah, pulled pork is a big part of how I manage my leftovers needs. It’s easy to make a bunch up over the weekend, and just chow down on it all week for lunch!

      • I love making a huge pot of pork stew (using the pressure cooker). The leftover meat chunks can be pan-grill into delicious steak… or pulled pork! 😀

  3. I usually try and avoid having leftovers so that I get to cook new stuff every night! I am quite the ‘wind down after work by cooking’ person… I get excited in the last hour or so before I escape the office, just thinking about what I can create when I get home! That said, it is nice to eat leftovers sometimes. I often make extra salad or cook a bit of extra protein for the husband to eat at lunchtime the following day! Great ideas in this post!

    • Thanks Laura! Like you, I rarely eat leftovers for dinner – it’s too much fun to skip cooking for! But I often re-use my dinner material for breakfast or lunch. It’s a really convenient way to have top quality pre-cooked food ready for me (instead of cold-cuts, or something like that)!

  4. Pingback: Easy Soup Recipes: Using Leftovers For An Easy Dinner | Tips Cooks Love

Leave a Reply

