What’s For Dinner? Clove Steak with Caramelized Mushrooms and Onions


CloveCaramelizedOnionsAndMushroomsOverSteak

UPC’s Clove Steak

My wife asked me recently: “How do you avoid repeating yourself?” I hate to admit it, but the truth is that I really, honestly, don’t know if I do manage to avoid repeating myself! That said, I eat somewhere between 18 and 25 meals each week, most weeks closer to the 25 number… And I get to choose only the 5 best meals that I server each week to share with you all. Of course, that doesn’t guarantee that I won’t be repeating myself, there is less of a likelihood of that, considering I can plan ahead pretty easily merely five relatively unique meals each week. That’s not too hard, right?

Planning ahead: That brings me to one of the topics of conversation that held me captive for nearly an hour over the weekend. Planning ahead. It seems so simple, and yet so few of us ever actually do it. It’s a strange concept, and one which is completely central to being a successful Paleo diet follower. And not just Paleo, but any diet anyone chooses to follow! The truth is that in order to successfully follow any diet, Paleo included, you need to make sure that your food choices have been made in advance. You need to carry with you the things that you’ll use when, inevitably, you’re hungry. Some of the time, that’s your willpower. But even your willpower needs to be prepared in advance. Most of the time, willpower alone, even when you’ve prepared in advance, will not be enough to insulate you from making off-diet food choices. You’ll need something more. Context, like knowing that the food choices available will damage you. Or even better, a food choice of your own, prepared and packed by you, with healthy wholesome ingredients. The kind of food that when you pull it out, all of your friends or co-workers are suddenly envious that they are stuck with the “quick and easy” choices available, while you have some delicious and nutritious foods, because you prepared for this very situation.

It is an excellent dilemma to have. It’s historically unprecedented. The idea, even 100 years ago, that we could be surrounded by so many food choices that there was even a possibility of making a “bad choice” is something that we live with every day, and couldn’t even have been fathomed by anyone except born royalty  before about 60 years ago. The unfortunate side effect of this situation is that, not only is it possible to make a “bad choice,” it’s actually quite likely! So, with that, I’m going to move on to my “good choice” of the day!

UPC’s Clove Steak; What you’ll need:

  • 1 lb Grass-Fed Steak
  • 1 large Organic Sweet Onion, chopped
  • 8-10 Cimini Mushrooms, quartered
  • 1 tablespoon Coconut Oil
  • Spices: Ground Cloves, Ground Black Pepper
  • Baked Maduros
  • Avocado

Serves: 2
Cook and Prep Time: 25 minutes (Plus the Baked Maduros)

1. In a pan heat up the steak until it is sizzling on high heat. This should take about 60 seconds on an electric stove, or 30 seconds on a gas stove.

2. Turn the heat down to medium-low (about 3 out of 10), and wait until the sizzling is nearly done, or another 60 seconds, then flip the steak.

1. Add the mushrooms and onions around the outside of the steak, then drizzle (or spread it, if it’s semi-solid) the coconut oil across the top of the steak and continue to cook on medium-low heat (about 3-4 out of 10).

4. Liberally sprinkle the cloves and fresh ground pepper across the steak and the mushrooms and onions. Cover the pan, and let this cook for 10-12 minutes.

5. After 10-12 minutes, stir the mushrooms and onions thoroughly. Re-cover the pan and let it continue to cook for another 10-12 minutes.
Note: This may be a good time to prepare the plates and side-dishes. If you prepared the Baked Maduros well in advance, and they’re in the fridge; you may want to re-heat them for eating.

6. Serve and enjoy!

Questions:

  • How do you prepare for a day of work, and make sure that you stay on-diet throughout the day?
  • How do you prepare for social engagements?
  • How do you prepare for avoiding soy and/or wheat when you’re eating out?
  • How do you prepare for the social stigma that still goes with a restrictive diet? Think “What? You don’t drink beer? What kind of man are you?!” kinds of questions, which could come from friends, colleagues, and strangers.
  • How do you prepare for holiday meals with your family?

7 thoughts on “What’s For Dinner? Clove Steak with Caramelized Mushrooms and Onions

  1. Pingback: What’s For Dinner? Clove Steak with Caramelized Mushrooms and Onions | Paleo Digest

  2. If you ever repeat something then it is probably important. That is called revision! Eating and drinking out is really tough when you are in training or on a program. I realized that the peer pressure can only work if you are not sure of yourself in the first place.

  3. I always try to carry some raw nuts and fresh fruit to snack on during the day. At social occasions I do my best, but I break all too often I am sad to say. You see I miss a lot of the junk food. I take one day at a time…

  4. I always try to carry some raw nuts and fruit when I go out in case I get peckish. Social events are much harder. Some I succeed in sticking to my guns, other times not. Then there are the rare occasions I bow out of because I know it will be too awkward or uncomfortable

Leave a Reply

