Roasted Mushroom Pulled Pork – A Weekend Meal Stash!


PulledPork

UPC’s Pulled Pork

The weather last night was icky, cool, and wet. Naturally, that made it perfect for me to go out and play in the rain!! And, of course, while I was playing in the rain, I was attempting another one of my “What’s For Dinner?” meals in the kitchen. As I’ve mentioned before, not every experiment ends in delighted success. On occasion, I cross the line a bit in my attempt for new and exciting flavors, and end up trying something that just simply doesn’t work. At least, according to me.

Last night I tried something that simply didn’t work.

What was it? I hope you’re asking with baited breath; heightened anticipation. Well, whether you are or not, I’m going to share. Right now. Well, after telling you that I’m going to share.

Almond Butter Coconut Steak.

As they say on TV: “Folks, do not try this at home.” I did, and it didn’t work. Take it from me, this is not a good idea. Of course, I’m not finished experimenting. That’s part of what I do. I’ll likely try something similar on chicken next; I think the flavors will mix better. And after trying it on chicken, maybe I’ll spice it heavily with some smoked habanero peppers, and see if it works better with steak and seriously hot peppers… And maybe I’ll… Well, anyway, I’ve got more ideas, and I’ll get to the bottom of how to combine those flavors deliciously. But last night, they were not delicious…

Roasted Mushroom Pulled Pork; What you’ll need:

  • 2 lbs Pork Loin Roast (at least 2 lbs; more works better!)
  • 1 lb Mixed Organic Mushrooms (this will work just as well with quartered crimini mushrooms)
  • 4-6 Organic Carrots
  • Spices: I used Black Pepper, Sea Salt, Italian Seasoning; use your favorite meat seasonings

Serves: 2 people, for several meals
Cook and Prep time: 6+ hours

1. Evenly spread the whole carrots across the bottom of a crock-pot or slow-cooker.

2. Place the pork roast carefully on the top of the carrots, making sure that the carrots are still fairly evenly spread across the bottom of the pot.

3. Spice the meat, add the mushrooms to the pot by spreading them evenly around the meat, and cook on a low setting (mine just has high and low; I use low) for at least 6 hours. You can continue to cook this for as many as 8-10 hours, as desired.

4. After 6+ hours of cook time take a fork and a set of grilling tongs and carefully pull the pork apart. To the limits of your patience, the smaller chunks you manage to pull the pork apart in to, the more “pulled” your end product will be!
Note: This step can be done at 6 hours of cook time, and you can continue to cook afterwards, if you’re available at that time. Alternately, you can do this just before serving the dish as well.

Questions:

  • What are your favorite spices to use on a Pulled Pork dish?
  • Have you had some epic gaffes in the kitchen lately?
  • Are you interested in seeing some non-food products that I make as well? Examples: Jewelry, face cream, art… And if so, how much would you like to see me intersperse non-food items in this entirely-food-related blog?
  • Did you notice the topic of discussion yesterday, and did you have thoughts that you didn’t have a chance to share?

9 thoughts on “Roasted Mushroom Pulled Pork – A Weekend Meal Stash!

  1. Pingback: Roasted Mushroom Pulled Pork – A Weekend Meal Stash! | Paleo Digest

    • Mushrooms are definitely a long time favorite of mine! I thought that I had found love again when I created that mushroom tapenade! Fortunately, mushrooms don’t seem to be jealous!

  2. Pingback: What’s For Lunch? UPC’s Bento-Boxes | Urban Paleo Chef

  3. Pingback: What’s For Lunch? Pulled Pork and Bacon Bento Box | Urban Paleo Chef

Leave a Reply

