What’s For Lunch? Peppered Shrimp


ShrimpForLunch

UPC’s Peppered Shrimp

The weather has been absolutely ideal lately! The temperature has been comfortable enough that wearing a summer-weight suit isn’t leaving me dripping by the time I walk in to the office. And I have been celebrating by increasing my workouts and my enjoyment of the outdoors! The upside, as I just mentioned, has been more time and appreciation of the outdoors. I could spend all day outside with the way the weather and temperatures have been lately! On the other side of the coin, though, is the increased workouts. On Sunday I did a leg-burner that left me seriously beat up! I ended up taking Monday off entirely, and yesterday I was only able to put together about a 2-mile run before I had to call it quits.

I know I’m not writing my “Workout and Diet” posts anymore, and based on the responses to my “Questions” at the end of my posts, most of you don’t those posts (I only got one response the day I asked that question). So what I did was this: There’s a long staircase going up a fairly large hill near my home. I ran up the hill, down the stairs, then I ran up the stairs stopping to do a set of 10 squats at every platform. I probably ended up doing somewhere in the neighborhood of 200 squats, while doing a stairs workout to boot! Then I ran the hill a couple more times, just for good measure. To say that I’ve been sore would be a misuse of the word!! Obviously, I’m delighted, and can’t wait to be ready for another workout just like it!

 

Peppered Shrimp; What you’ll need:

  • 1 lb Wild-Caught Shrimp (mine is frozen)
  • 2 tablespoons Coconut Oil
  • 2 tablespoons Fresh Ground Black Pepper (more or less)

Serves: 2
Cook and Prep time: About 15 minutes

1. Put the shrimp in a pan with the coconut oil and cook it on high heat.
Notes: I’ve waxed philosophically on frozen seafood before, but if you have access to fresh caught wild shrimp, eat this as fresh as you can get it! If not, probably the frozen stuff is fresher than the unfrozen stuff.

2. Cook this for about 5-7 minutes, letting it thaw and cooking off the water from the thawing. Stir regularly while cooking.

3. Sprinkle the pepper across the shrimp liberally. This is one of those cases where more is likely to be just fine!
Note: You may want to prepare the plates with your side dishes ahead of time. I do it at this point.

4. Continue to cook and stir the shrimp until the water has all boiled off and the shrimp is sizzling like bacon in the pan. Serve immediately, and enjoy!

Questions:

  • Do you do a speed workout every week? Like sprinting up a hill, or a 5-10 minute hard rowing session, or maybe a spin class?
  • What kind of speed workout is your favorite?
  • What kind of speed workout have you been meaning to try, but haven’t gotten a chance yet?

3 thoughts on “What’s For Lunch? Peppered Shrimp

  1. Dude! Looks awesome. So, Here is what I think. I think you could be a Paleo Meal Coach and I am ready to pony up and pay $$ to have you create meal plans. Do you have PayPal? I am kicking it back into gear next week (I have been slacking), and customized meals, shopping lists would be marketable, in my opinion – I would pay for it – and would be one less excuse I could make. I had great success with Paleo before but meal planning – being creative, began to wear me down.

  2. Pingback: What’s For Lunch? Peppered Shrimp Bento Box | Urban Paleo Chef

Leave a Reply

