What’s For Lunch? Smoked Keilbasa Stir Fry


SmokedKeilbasaStirFry

The heat is seriously on here in NYC. It beat down on the streets yesterday, bringing the temperature near 100 degrees. And it looks like it will be a repeat performance for today. The upside to that: it’s great training weather at peak-heat for Triathlon and other race enthusiasts. The downside: I am not a triathlete, and I really don’t like training in this kind of heat. So I’ve been wallowing on my couch, exhausted just from surviving the tremendous heat. It was one thing to be in this kind of heat in Cartagena, while on vacation wearing shorts. It’s another thing entirely when I am attempting to survive the walk to work in a suit and tie. I can’t even think about the level of heat outside without losing my cool – and I mean that literally!

Fortunately, I still have food to turn to!

Smoked Keilbasa Stir Fry; What you’ll need:

  • 1lb Smoked Keilbasa, sliced (I’ve discussed sticking to high-quality meats before)
  • 1 medium Zucchini or Yellow Squash, sliced (these work better if they’re young)
  • 2 medium Carrots, sliced
  • 6-8 medium Crimini mushrooms, quartered
  • Spices: Turmeric, Salt, Pepper (and others, if you like)

Serves: 2
Cook and Prep Time:

1. Start the Keilbasa first on medium high heat. Cook for 2-3 minutes without any oil, but stir regularly.

2. Add the zucchini, carrots, and mushrooms after about 2-3 minutes of cooking. Keep the heat on medium-high, and cook for another 7-8 minutes before spicing.

3. Spice your food, and keep stirring! Serve after 12-15 minutes of total cook time.

Questions:

  • Do you do Stir Fry?
  • Which vegetables are your favorites?
  • Which meats are your favorites?
  • Do you like Stir Fry as a side, or as a main dish?

9 thoughts on “What’s For Lunch? Smoked Keilbasa Stir Fry

  1. Pingback: Whatโ€™s For Lunch? Smoked Keilbasa Stir Fry | Paleo Digest

  2. I’ve never heard of Keilbasa. Sounds delicious though! Sorry to hear it’s so hot where you are. In contrast, I’m freezing my ass of in 2 degrees C right now! It’s been a really cold winter by Australian standards. I’m wrapped in a blanket and I don’t want to move (though I have to leave for work in 10 minutes!).

    • I like Keilbasa a lot, though it’s been harder to find a Paleo-friendly sausage since I switched to Paleo in the last few years. I can’t tell you how excited I was to find a Niman Ranch Keilbasa with reasonably high quality pork and no bad additives!

      http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kielbasa
      In the above article, the “Country Keilbasa” which is the light-brown curved sausage in the center of the dish is my favorite variety of Keilbasa. They’re a great sausage, and I am sure that similar kinds of sausage can be found in Aussie-land.
      Wow, 2 C IS cold! Sorry!! Though I really enjoy the cold – I was born and raised in the northern mountains, where a 2C day in mid-winter would worry us terribly, because it’s far too warm!

  3. Keilbasa! I saw it once in a big supermarket in the city. Isn’t it kind of funny that I saw keilbasa in this middle of nowhere? I mean I had never found a zucchini or kale in this place! ๐Ÿ˜€

      • I think the owner of the supermarket is a big fan of sausages. He got a big shelf dedicated for the treat. He even got Germany sausages in the bottles! ๐Ÿ˜€

      • Awesome! I love it when I meet some dedicated fans of food – they always have some great stuff in their collection, and tips and tricks on how to best enjoy them!

      • Totally agree with you! That’s how I know the things I know! The local herbal store owner taught me how to pick dried chrysanthemums that bloom in the end of the fall, which is better than the ones blooming in summer. ๐Ÿ˜€

Leave a Reply

