Workout and Diet


Day 17 of my 90-day challenge.

Today’s Workout

  • Morning Workout:
  • 1 mile
  • Evening Workout: Sprints
  • 1.5 miles warm-up
  • 1.5 miles cool-down
  • 3 800 hills – there’s a hill near my home which is almost exactly .5 miles up. So I ran up, did pull-ups, then ran back down. 800 up, 800 back down, 3 times; total: 3 miles.
  • 3 sets of 10 pull-ups
  • Total Mileage: 7 Miles
  • Weekly Total: 14 Miles

Today’s Diet:

  • Breakfast: Salad
  • Mixed Salad Greens, Kiwi, Cucumber, Apple, Rosemary Ham
  • Morning Snack:
  • 1 tablespoon Coconut butter mixed with 100% Cocoa Powder
  • 1 tablespoon Raw Apple Cider Vinegar
  • Lunch: Salad
  • Mixed Salad Greens, Apple, Cucumber, Zucchini, Rosemary Ham, Avocado
  • Afternoon Snack:
  • 1 tablespoon Coconut butter mixed with 100% Cocoa Powder
  • 1 tablespoon Raw Apple Cider Vinegar
  • Dinner:
  • Coconut Shrimp, cooked in coconut oil, turmeric, Italian seasoning
  • Avocado
  • Green Olives
  • 5 Prunes

This was a great workout. I haven’t been doing enough hills, since the route that I run most days is completely flat (along the Hudson river walk). So it was a great feeling to get out and pound out some hill workouts! It was interesting to note that I was done after 3, and the 1.5 miles home from the hill was a challenging 1.5 miles! It’s not terribly surprising, considering I did speed yesterday, but it seems like 3×800 is sort of a workout limit for me. So now I have two goals with regards to getting my speed training up and running (pun, anyone?): first, I need to increase my speed, so I’ll likely be adding in some 200s somewhere in my workouts. Second, I apparently have a peak-output limit of about 1.5 miles, so I’ll need to increase that somewhat to be really effective. I would like to see that double before the 1-mile race in September, so my training can be 3 miles of training (plus the warm-up and cool-down that I do) rather than the 1.5 miles that I am able to do now.

I think those are reasonable goals, and I think they’ll happen to some extent as a result of the training that I’m doing anyway. But with me aware of them and focused on them, I can push them a bit more, and perhaps see some better improvements.

Leave a Reply

