What’s For Dinner? Bacon and Scallops


BaconScallops1

Bacon Scallops with Avocado

Reminder: I am a published Chef now! Find the e-book, with tons of great recipes from many of the best Paleo chefs out there including me, here.

Walking from the ferry to work this morning, I was the only person I saw wearing a suit, or a tie. I think this is the first morning that I have not noticed a single other person wearing either a suit or tie – typically there are an abundance of both! I’m not sure if this means that summer is officially here? Maybe that’s a good measure, right? At least, as good as any. From now on, I will declare that “Summer has arrived” on the first day that I don’t notice another person wearing a suit or tie.
Or maybe not. I’m going to guess that today was a fluke. There must have been a guy wearing a suit who ducked in to the coffee shop just before I turned the corner. And despite that I didn’t look behind me, the next person, in lock step behind me, was obviously wearing a tie. Or a suit. Or both a suit and a tie! So, if my rule is that Summer starts when I don’t see a suit or tie, then Summer may never start at all… And we can’t have that.

Ok, so that’s not my new rule. But it was bizarre. To be perfectly honest, people wearing a suit, with a tie, like I do are the exception rather than the rule, even on the most crisp of fall days, just before the first snow. But while they’re the minority, it’s a minority by a small margin where I go to work. It’s not uncommon for me to see 40% of the men wearing a suit and tie, and a good 25% of the women wearing a suit (skirt suit or pants-suit). So, back to the food. That was just my little story for the day.

Bacon Scallops; What you’ll need:

  • 1/2 lb Premium Bacon (see my Bacon Project page for more on premium bacon)
  • 1/2 lb Wild Caught Scallops (frozen)
  • 1 large Avocado
  • Fresh ground Black Pepper

Serves: 2
Prep and Cook time: 25 minutes

Put the bacon in a pan on medium-high (5 out of 10) and cover. Cook the bacon for about 5 minutes, stirring occasionally and leaving it covered in between. This recipe will work well for either full-length slices, or if you prefer to cut your slices down in size a bit. I like my slices to be half-length; but that’s just a matter of preference. This recipe is a new level of delicious! I can’t tell you how much I enjoyed eating this for dinner, and I will DEFINITELY be making this again, and soon!

After about 5 minutes of cooking, add the scallops to the pan. I’ve mentioned previously that I prefer my seafood frozen. A lot of the higher quality commercial fishing boats these days will freeze their “frozen stock” of fish right there on the boat, which means that the product you have in your freezer may be the freshest fish you can get. In fact, depending on what kinds of fish you’re buying, and where you live, this could be a more fresh than would be available right at the docks where the commercial boats are unloading their catch. So I use a lot of frozen seafood, since, as I said, it’s fresh that way.
If you have access to quality fresh seafood, then you’ll want to modify this recipe for scallops that are not frozen. I design my recipes to include the thawing process; so there’s no need to prep your food by thawing it out. This is generally true for all of my meals, but particularly for my seafood. This also has a lot to do with why I slow-cook a majority of my meals: the thawing process can incorporate a hot marinade that way. It’s delicious!

Since we’re using frozen scallops, the water in the scallops will be released in to the pan. Once you notice the pan filling with the scallop water, uncover the pan and let the water cook off. The flavor is quite nice once it’s had a chance to cook down, especially in the bacon fat. And if you’re using a truly premium bacon, one which would pass the UPC Bacon Project muster, then you have nothing to worry about when it comes to the health aspects of the bacon fat you’re using. In fact, it could be as healthy, if not more healthy than coconut oil. And in this case, it’s definitely more delicious!
Cook the scallops and bacon together, in the same pan, until the scallops are light brown on both sides.
You’ll know when to pay more attention to the pan once most of the scallop water has cooked off, and the sound in the pan goes from boiling to sizzling. You’ll want to be flipping the scallops and stirring the bacon regularly at that point, paying close attention to the cooking process. Scallops are delicate, so getting them “just right” requires attention and care. Once you’ve got it, you’ll love it!

Questions:

  • Who has the Fat Burning Chef e-book yet?
  • What is your favorite recipe in the book? And no, you don’t get bonus points for choosing my recipes – only pick your favorites. If that is mine, I’ll be delighted, but be truthful!
  • Which of the chefs in the book were you already familiar with?
  • Which of the new-to-you chefs have you been haunting since discovering them?

BaconScallops

6 thoughts on “What’s For Dinner? Bacon and Scallops

    • I like them bacon-wrapped – it’s a great way to do it! But if I took the time to do that, I would bake them instead of frying them. Yum!
      Even for the quick-n-dirty meal, though, this is pretty dern delicious, simple, and easy!

    • Hmm… Scallops and bacon. Scallops = apple of your eye = apple. Bacon and apple? Who would have ever thought of something silly like? Next you’re going to suggest applewood smoked bacon, right? I mean, seriously…

      I gotta tell you Gigi – this was an absolutely amazing meal, and I recommend it for everyone!

    • I am giving serious thought to the cook book…
      Did you notice my post over the weekend? I’ve been published in an e-book compilation recipe book, with a bunch of the best-‘n-brightest Paleo chefs, plus me! On my Saturday post (titled: Fat-Burning Chef) you’ll see my synopsis, thoughts, and the link at the bottom for buying it.
      I’m only 3 of the recipes in the book. And every single other recipe there is fantastic! I’ll likely be featuring several of them over the coming weeks.

Leave a Reply

