Workout and Diet


Day 5 of my 90-day challenge.

Today’s Workout

  • Morning Workout:
  • Nothing
  • Evening Workout:
  • 3 miles recovery run
  • Weights:
  • 10 Minutes on the Resistance Rower (30-35 strokes per minute, max)
  • 4 Super-Sets:
  • 20lb Medicine Ball Incline Situps to failure: 20, 20, 20, 18
  • Overhead lifts, hands in 110 lbs to failure: 5, 6, 5, 5
  • 4 Super-Sets:
  • Pull Ups to failure: 6, 6, 5, 4
  • Straight barbell behind the head shoulder press 100 lb to failure: 6, 5, 5, 5
  • 3 sets 45lb weight with both hands from right knee, straight arm up over the head and down to left knee, then reverse: 5, 5, 5
  • Total Mileage: 3 Miles
  • Weekly Total: 24.5 Miles

Today’s Diet:

  • Breakfast:
  • 5 hard boiled eggs
  • Sun-dried tomatoes in olive oil
  • Morning Snack:
  • 1 tablespoon Coconut Oil
  • Lunch: Salad
  • Salad greens
  • Guacamole
  • Shredded Pork
  • Tomatoes
  • Roasted Green Peppers and Onions
  • Lemon juice
  • Afternoon Snack:
  • 1 tablespoon Coconut Oil
  • 1 ounce Bakers Chocolate (pure cocoa)
  • 2 tablespoons Hazlenut butter
  • Dinner:
  • 3 Chicken breasts
  • Several candied ginger
  • Handful “Baby” carrots
  • 1/2 lb raw sharp cheddar cheese

I was sore on Tuesday, and still slightly sore on Wednesday after my 800s workout, but I was surprisingly not sore today after my 400s yesterday. I ran them hard, and I was definitely feeling the strain of the workout, but it seems I recovered faster from 6 400s than I did from 3 800s. I suppose it could be because the 800s were the very first speed workout in a long time; where the 400s were not the first (the second, yes). I guess I’ll find out tomorrow, right? Second day is always the day the pain really shows up…

Despite not being sore, I took it easy with the recovery run today. I will be making sure to really treat my body carefully for the first several weeks in terms of recovering from my speed workouts. I am notoriously nonchalant about things like warming up and stretching. But I am extra careful with other muscle care, including recovery runs, and (obviously) hyper-careful nutrition.

Today’s workout was quite a challenge. I really targeted those abs with the ab portion of the workout; but because I was extending the medicine ball on the bottom of each situp, I was hitting the underside of the shoulder too. And then I hit the shoulder from both sides again with pull-ups, barbell shoulder presses in front of the face, barbell shoulder presses behind the head, and the around-the-body thing. It was a comprehensive shoulder day, working the shoulder in some way with each exercise I did. By the time I got to the run (I ran after the workout today) I was exhausted, and spent the first mile just recovering from the workout, before I even got to the recovery from yesterday’s sprints!

Leave a Reply

