Workout and Diet


Today is Day 4 of my own personal 90-day challenge! Wish me luck!!

Today’s Workout

  • Morning Workout:
  • 1 Mile
  • Evening Workout:
  • 2 miles warm up
  • 6 400’s with a 75 second goal pace (+6, +5, +6, +5, +9, +12)
  • 3 Sets 15 Push Ups
  • 3 Sets 15 Knee to Opposite Elbow Mountain Climbers
  • 3 Sets 15 Knee to Outside Elbow Mountain Climbers
  • 2 miles cool-down
  • Total Mileage: 6.5 Miles
  • Weekly Total: 21.5 Miles

Today’s Diet:

  • Breakfast:
  • Nothing
  • Morning Snack:
  • 1 tablespoon Coconut oil
  • 1 Vermont Smoke And Cure Beef Stick
  • Lunch:
  • 1 Chocolate Chip Larabar
  • Afternoon Snack:
  • 1 tablespoon Coconut Oil
  • 1 Vermont Smoke And Cure Pork Stick
  • Dinner: (Ate Out)
  • 1/4 lb leftover Shank Steak, cooked in Red Onions (Before leaving)
  • Sea Bass cooked in Olive Oil (estimate: 6 oz)
  • Guacamole with Plantain chips
  • Grilled Calamari
  • Fried Sweet Plantains
  • 1 Glass Rose Champagne
  • 1 Glass Port

Tough day on the food front – I woke up late and missed breakfast. I had meetings all day at work and didn’t get a break until after 4:00! All I had to snack on were the meat sticks (great quality, as I have come to expect from Vermont Smoke And Cure!!) and Larabars, but I’m trying to keep those to an absolute minimum, since there’s a lot of sugar in them. All natural sugar, from fruit, of course. But a lot of sugar none the less.

I was pleased with my 400s; +6/+5/+6/+5 corresponds to a 5:22 mile, if you assume they can be sustained (I can’t assume that at the moment!). I obviously didn’t make my goal pace of 75 seconds, even on the second one (no one makes in the first one!). But I’m still shaking the cobwebs out of my legs. It’s been a long time since I did any serious speed training, so this week has been a great re-introduction!

I have to short-term goals, which will tell me that I’m headed on my way: 1. I want to get at least my first 3 400s under 75 seconds. 2. I need to be able to finish 6 800’s near goal pace. Once I do those, I’ll change my workouts, and keep myself growing!

Next up: Saturday or Sunday (depending on my legs!) I will do 200s, with a goal pace of 35 seconds. I think that will be easy for me for the first couple. But to maintain the distance, I have to do 12 of them – and that’s not going to be easy at all!

2 thoughts on “Workout and Diet

Leave a Reply

