Workout and Diet


Today is Day 1 of my own personal 90-day challenge! Wish me luck!!

Today’s Workout

  • Morning Workout:
  • 1 Mile
  • Evening Workout:
  • 2 miles warm up
  • 1 Set 15 Push Ups
  • 1 Set 15 Knee to Opposite Elbow Mountain Climbers
  • 1 Set 15 Knee to Outside Elbow Mountain Climbers
  • 3 800’s with a 150 second goal pace (+14, +19, +30)
  • 2 Sets 15 Push Ups
  • 2 Sets 15 Knee to Opposite Elbow Mountain Climbers
  • 2 Sets 15 Knee to Outside Elbow Mountain Climbers
  • 2 miles cool-down
  • 2 Sets 15 Push Ups
  • 2 Sets 15 Knee to Opposite Elbow Mountain Climbers
  • 2 Sets 15 Knee to Outside Elbow Mountain Climbers
  • Total Mileage: 6.5 Miles
  • Weekly Total: 6.5 Miles

Today’s Diet:

  • Breakfast:
  • Scrambled Eggs with Celery and Mushrooms cooked in
  • 5 oz Bacon (Vermont Smoke and Cure – Yum!)
  • Morning Snack:
  • 1 oz Baking Cocoa (100% pure)
  • 2 tablespoons Coconut Oil
  • 1 tablespoon Apple Cider Vinegar
  • Lunch: Salad
  • Arugula
  • Cucumber
  • Ham
  • Apple
  • Mushrooms
  • Ginger
  • Olive Oil
  • Afternoon Snack:
  • 1 tablespoon Hazlenut Butter
  • 1 tablespoon Cocoa Powder
  • Dinner:
  • 1/4 lb Grass-Fed Burger Patty, cooked with Red Onions
  • 1/4 lb leftover Shank Steak, cooked in Red Onions
  • Caramelized Red Onions
  • 1/2 Avocado

It was raining profusely, and I love working out in a drenching rain like it was last night. There is a track exactly 2 miles from my front door, so most of my workouts will begin and end with a 2-mile run. The warm-up was nice. I didn’t run all weekend, though I got 25 miles in last week easily. But the warm-up got the cobwebs out from the weekend. I did 1 set of my Strength training portion of the run as I arrived at the track (push ups, cross-over mountain climbers, outside mountain climbers), then did my sprints. I was slower than I had hoped, but it’s no surprise. I set my stop-watch to 150 seconds, since I will need to be able to do 6+ 800s at that speed to be able to pull off the sub-5 mile. The first 800 was +14 seconds, which is a respectable 82 seconds per 400. I haven’t been speed training at all in about 8-10 months, so I was happy with a +14. The second was a +19; a bit slower, but not terrible. The third was a +30 which is a 6 minute mile, and definitely tells me that I was done for the day. If I had kept trying to push, I might have been in injury territory, and that’s no way to start a speed-training regimen!

I have two goals, as I’ve explained on my dedicated “Workouts and Diet” page, and sprint training is an incredibly important component of both! But just for posterity, I’ll mention them here as well: I want to break a 5:00 mile at the NYC 5th Avenue Continental Mile in September, about 90 days from now, and I want to finally break through to the 6-pack I have been lazily working towards since I realized it was actually possible after switching to Paleo.

The workout was excellent, and I enjoyed it thoroughly! I haven’t done a whole lot of sprints in a while, and I was really excited to get back on the sprint training. I have two goals, as I’ve explained on my dedicated “Workouts and Diet” page, and sprint training is an incredibly important component of both! But just for posterity, I’ll mention them here as well: I want to break a 5:00 mile at the NYC 5th Avenue Continental Mile in September, about 90 days from now, and I want to finally break through to the 6-pack I have been lazily working towards since I realized it was actually possible after switching to Paleo.

10 thoughts on “Workout and Diet

  1. Pingback: Workout and Diet | Paleo Digest

    • Great question! You got it mostly correct: I eat the chocolate with the coconut oil. It’s a baking chocolate bar, so I’ll take a bite and eat that, then take some coconut oil. The two together are marvelously complimentary!
      The raw apple cider vinegar is something I will take a quick shot of (literally, I’ll use a shot glass for it) at some point most mornings. I have read, and my personal experience supports this, that it’s great for digestion, and something about it helps your body manage blood sugar levels. Since it’s really hard to drink straight, I often chase it with some water, just to clean my mouth out.

      • Oh, well that certainly makes a lot more sense now lol. In my mind, when you said baking chocolate, I automatically deferred to the powdered format and blanched at the thought. That does sound like an excellent combination.
        I’ve differed to a spoonful of coconut oil many times as a basic appetite suppressant if needed between meals.
        Gah, I’ve tried the straight apple cider vinegar thing in the past but just can’t bring myself to do it on a daily basis.

      • Yeah, the raw cider vinegar definitely took some getting used to! But now it’s no longer so bad. I don’t drink it every day, but I probably end up having some a good 4 days per week.

        I would add the powdered chocolate to nut butter or coconut butter if it wasn’t so much work! As it is, I just get the baking bars and take a nice big bite!

Leave a Reply

