What’s For Breakfast? Celery Scrambled Eggs, Avocado, Papaya


CaribbeanBreakfast

Papaya, Eggs and Avocado. It’s the Urban Paleo Chef’s Paleo Digestion Meal!

Another of my Colombia meals, here is one of the breakfasts that I put together while I was there. I always try and get accommodations with a kitchen. That can turn a $1000 dollar food budget for vacation in to a $300 food budget for vacation, making big changes in the number of trips that I can afford to take each year. Then I can go out to some of the slightly more expensive restaurants and enjoy myself, the top quality foods they serve, and not be panicked that I will run out of budget for my other meals.

What you’ll need:

  • 1 cup sliced Celery
  • 4 Eggs
  • 2 cups sliced Papaya (fresh)
  • 1 large sliced Avocado

I love eggs. They’re a great source of quality cholesterol, valuable fats, and some great protein. Not to mention the vitamins and minerals that come with them. The eggs in Colombia were amazing! They had the most incredible orange coloring, like I wrote about in my “Are All Eggs Created Equal?” post a few months ago, indicating a very high quality egg. The extra orange coloring, as opposed to the dull-yellow that we see here in the US, indicates that the chickens were fed their natural diet of bugs, grubs, grass and seeds from foraging in a farm yard. A very nutritious diet for a chicken, and the diet necessary to produce the top quality eggs that have the bright orange colored yolk.

The fruits of Colombia are incredible! Walking down the fruit isles in Colombia is an eye-opening experience. Most of the street vendors have more varieties of fruits available than the best grocery stores here in the US. And the grocery stores in Colombia had several isles, filled with fruits which I had never seen before. I never even imagined the kinds of variety, and freshness, that the fruits could have! It was absolutely amazing!
I did a little of “try something new” and I worked a bit with the old stand by foods as well. I ate quite a bit of Avocado. And while that’s nothing new for me, it is most definitely a local food, and much more fresh and delicious there than I have had here. Similarly, papaya is a familiar food for me, but it was so fresh I thought it had been picked off a tree outside the store when I bought it. I brought it home and opened it up immediately.

I’ll do a post on the fruits of Colombia tomorrow. But for today, enjoy my breakfast!

Questions:

  • What are your favorite breakfast foods?
  • What are your most frequent breakfast foods?
  • What breakfast foods do you look for, make, or prefer when you’re traveling?

2 thoughts on “What’s For Breakfast? Celery Scrambled Eggs, Avocado, Papaya

Leave a Reply

