What’s For Lunch? – Double Coconut Salmon with Side Salad


CoconutSalmonHash

Continuing the Caribbean theme with the coconut and fish (salmon in this case), and of course using up the rest of my pineapple, this lunch is an excellent meal to bring to work and chow down to your heart’s content at lunch!

No Colombia story today… Instead, I’ll share a different story which is fresh in my mind, and will likely be forgotten if I don’t tell it now! I’ve been fearing for a few weeks now that the heat would likely soon get in the way of me running to work. I can take off my suit coat for a while, once it gets to that, but that will only be a temporary solution. The truth is that I do most of my training wearing very little clothing, and my morning runs to the ferry are done wearing quite a lot more. The difference, while it is likely good for me to change up my “training” a bit, also increases the probability of me sweating too much in my suit.

Anyway, as I was considering whether we had gotten there yet this morning, and dodging the generally ever-present goose droppings on the path, I noticed that the goose droppings were likely more than I am used to seeing. So I started to pay attention. I like that running gives me a chance to keep an eye on the changes that are happening to my neighborhoods, since I am actively engaged in that very neighborhood daily! Well, looking around at the larger than usual number of goose droppings, I immediately noticed that the geese were leading around their little herd of goslings! I just love goslings! They look like furballs, literally, and waddle around in a straight line behind the goose who is leading them (often the mother, but the mother and father work together actively so it’s usually difficult to tell which is at the head at any given time). They are SO CUTE!

And that, to me, is the surefire sign that Spring is over, and Summer is upon us. That and the fact that I’m wondering, every day now, whether it will be my last fully suited run to the ferry.

What you’ll need:

  • The Salmon:
  • 1 can Wild-Caught Salmon
  • 1/2 cup Celery, sliced
  • 1/2 cup Crimini Mushrooms, sliced
  • 1/2 cup Coconut Chips
  • 2 tablespoons Coconut Oil
  • The Salad:
  • Salad Greens (this was the “spring mix”)
  • 1 small Zucchini, sliced
  • 1 large Avocado, sliced
  • 1/2 Leek stalk, sliced
  • 1/2 cup Pineapple, sliced
  • 2 tablespoons Flaxseed
  • 2 tablespoons Olive Oil

Serves: 2
Prep and Cook time: About 20 minutes (mostly prep)

In a pan, heat up the celery and mushrooms with the coconut oil on a medium heat. Stir these slowly but regularly for the first 1-2 minutes. After about 2-3 minutes these should start to sizzle. As soon as they’re sizzling, add the salmon and coconut chips and mix thoroughly. Keep this on the heat for about 1 more minute, stirring regularly, and then remove. The cooking is done. Leave these on the stove while they cool a bit, and tend to the salad.

The Salmon is pre-cooked as part of the canning process, so there’s no ingredient which actually needs to be cooked to eat like this. The most important part of the cooking process is imbuing the ingredients with the coconut flavors. This comes first from the coconut oil, where the flavor of coconut is very subtle, but will cook in to the food quickly. Then these come from the coconut chips which carry the coconut flavor strongly, and will pass that flavor on to anything it is cooked with. The result is quite delicious!

The salad on the side will compliment the salmon quite delightfully! Not only does it use up the leftover pineapple from my Pineapple Beef post, but pineapple is quite a delicious fruit, and can be eaten alone, along with many other meals! I am a big fan of pineapple in almost all of it’s forms, and love to eat it when it’s in season.

Questions:

  • Have you seen any of the spring/summer animals out to play and be social yet? Squirrels, birds, baby raccoons? Which ones do you look for each year?
  • Have you been startled by some of the early summer wildlife on your walks and runs in the woods or parks recently? Grouse, baby deer?
  • Have you enjoyed any of the wonderfully beautiful early summer flowers? Which ones? Which are your favorite?

3 thoughts on “What’s For Lunch? – Double Coconut Salmon with Side Salad

  1. Pingback: What’s For Lunch? – Double Coconut Salmon with Side Salad | Paleo Digest

    • Yeah, it works really well! And a second plus: it keeps really well for lunch, not losing any flavor at all during the fairly long wait! And the flavor: so rich, creamy, and delicious! It’s like a coconut-cream baked salmon, but easier to carry to work with you!

Leave a Reply

