What’s For Dinner? – Mixed Seafood, Sweet Potato Fries, Avocado


SweetPotatoFriesAndSeafood

Today’s meal was inspired by my wife. I know I’ve discussed that funny dinner-time dance that we do sometimes. I ask her: “What do you want for dinner?” and she responds “I don’t know, what do we have?” It’s an almost daily game that we play, and some of the time it’s quite amusing, while at other times it can be trying. Well, my day yesterday was a good one and I have plenty of extra patience to go around. So when my wife responded back, as she always does with, “What do we have?” I was prepared with what turned out to be tonight’s meal.

What you’ll need:

  • 1 lb bag of frozen mixed seafood (mixture of calamari, shrimp, scallops)
  • 2 medium Sweet Potatoes
  • 1 large Avocado
  • 3 tablespoons Coconut Oil
  • Italian Seasoning

In a pan add the seafood, one tablespoon of coconut oil and some Italian seasoning. Cook these on high, covered, until they are boiling, then uncover and stir occasionally until the water has all evaporated off. This should take about 10-15 minutes. I really enjoy this seafood mix. It’s all wild-caught, and the flavor is quite excellent. I’ve cooked it up with several different spice variations, as well as plan with coconut oil, and I’ve been very pleased with the quality of the product. While I know that it’s more economical to can/freeze produce on site, I expect that is not always how things are done. But this mixed seafood is definitely frozen very quickly after being caught and processed. The manufacturer did a great job preserving the freshness.

As the seafood cooks, slice the sweet potatos to “fries” shape, and add them to a separate pan with the remaining 2 tablespoons of coconut oil. Cook this on high, also covered, for about 3-4 minutes, stirring regularly, then reduce the heat to medium-low for another 6-7 minutes. Add the Italian seasoning after about 8-10 minutes of cook time, and stop stirring the pan. When you add the seasoning, make sure that you spread it out well, because you’re going to stop stirring the pan at this point. Cover the pan, turn the heat down a bit more, and let it continue to cook on a low heat for another 5 minutes or so.

No questions today. Instead: updates.

  1. I’m headed to Cartagena Colombia. Despite that my wife is Colombian, this is our first time there together, so I am very excited!
  2. I have scheduled posts to come out while I’m away, but I will not have regular internet access, so if you have questions or comments, don’t think that I’m ignoring you when I don’t respond immediately! I will catch up when I return, I promise!
  3. You can look forward to several posts, like when I went to Washington DC, about the food of Cartagena, especially the seafood!

One thought on “What’s For Dinner? – Mixed Seafood, Sweet Potato Fries, Avocado

  1. Pingback: What’s For Dinner? – Mixed Seafood, Sweet Potato Fries, Avocado | Paleo Digest

Leave a Reply

