What’s For Breakfast? – Salad with Bone Broth Dressing


BoneBrothBreakfastSalad

I’m worried that the heat outside is getting high enough that I’ll have to stop running to work in the mornings. I can handle getting a little bit sweaty – a little bit. But if I’m still wiping sweat off my brow by the time I walk on to my floor at work, that’s more sweaty than I want to be at work. It’s not the perception that I want to be giving off – and it really doesn’t go well with a suit! Hopefully the mornings will stay crisp for a while longer; but the days are heating up and I’m worried.
On the plus side: the weather is great! I’ve really been enjoying my mid-day workouts on the weekends in the full sun, with green grass under my bare feet! It’s been keeping the smile on my face!

Breakfast Salad, Home-Made Bone Broth Dressing, and What you’ll need:

  • Breakfast Salad:
  • Mixed Greens (Mine is mostly arugula, with some “spring mix” added in)
  • 8 ounces Roasted Turkey cold cuts (absolutely no nitrates/nitrites!)
  • 1 Carrot, sliced
  • 2 small Zucchini, sliced
  • 1 Avocado, chopped
  • 2 tablespoons Flax Seed
  • Bone Broth Dressing:
  • 2 tablespoons Bone Broth (since mine is home-made, it’s extra thick)
  • 2 tablespoons Apple Cider Vinegar (organic, unfiltered)
  • 2 tablespoons Olive Oil

Serves: 2

I am a huge fan of arugula. There is something about the flavor, the crispness, the texture. I have a good friend who would argue (and I can’t refute it…) that because I am Italian, it’s simply cultural heritage. Obviously, that’s fine; either way, I really love arugula. Lately, I’ve been adding either flax seed or sliced almonds to my salads. The extra nutty flavor that they both add to the salads has been great – you can never have enough nutty in your life! And I’ve really been enjoying the increased metabolism effect that they’ve been having on me.

And finally: when I’m showcasing a flavor other than a meat, I always try to use a mild flavored meat in the salad. That’s the reason I chose the turkey for this salad. Alternatively, I might choose a strong flavored meat, with a complimentary flavor. For example: in a “Smokey Salad” I could use bacon or any other smoked meat product (I regularly buy a great smoked turkey). But when the flavor I’m most keen on is the dressing, then I’ll use a more subtle meat, like roast turkey or roast chicken, so that the dressing will be the leading flavor in the meal.

Bone Broth Dressing:

I just finished making my latest batch of bone broth. I really enjoy the multitude of ways that I use bone broth, including adding it to my eggs, salad dressings, and even sometimes as an additional flavor for meat that I’m cooking. Because I make it myself, I have control over the consistency of the finished product, and I always make it extra thick. I find that it’s quite easy, in the moment, to dilute it for a more liquid purpose like a salad dressing. But that it’s very difficult to thicken it when that’s what you want to do, like adding it to a hand-made burger.

So add 2 tablespoons of the thick home-made bone broth to a bowl, add the cider vinegar and olive oil, and mix thoroughly. Because the bone broth is thick, mixing takes a few moments. The flavor is quite excellent as a salad dressing. Here’s a little trick I use in my salads: I pour the dressing in to the salad before mixing, and make sure that the mushrooms are on the very top of the salad. I do this because the mushrooms absorb the flavors the fastest, and I find that I like the salad flavor the best when the mushrooms are carrying the flavor. It’s a really great way to preserve the flavor of the dressing through mixing.
So I gave the dressing a quick taste before adding it to the salad. It was really quite excellent. The rich, thick flavor of the bone broth combine very nicely with the apple cider vinegar, offsetting the otherwise quite sharp flavor that the cider vinegar might have. And the olive oil smoothed any of the rough edges remaining over perfectly. It was quite delicious! If I were not Paleo, I might add just a bit of grated Parmesan to the dressing, and it would be just perfect. And even without the Parmesan, the flavor is quite pleasant, and perfect for a salad.

Questions:

I’ve made a few home-made dressings on the site: today’s Bone Broth dressing, as well as an Avocado Dressing, and even the “Awesomesauce” that I posted as a guest post recently.

  • Which dressings do you like the most?
  • What ingredients do you prefer in those dressings?
  • If you could change the ingredients slightly, what would you add/subtract from your favorite dressing?
  • What dressings are you willing to make for yourself?

3 thoughts on “What’s For Breakfast? – Salad with Bone Broth Dressing

  1. Pingback: What’s For Breakfast? – Salad with Bone Broth Dressing | Paleo Digest

    • Awesome Jenn – I can’t wait! I really enjoyed it, the bone broth really gave the apple-cider vinaigrette a much more grounded, rich, earthy flavor. I was really quite pleased with how much it calmed the otherwise sharp flavor of cider vinegar, which I like a lot.

Leave a Reply

