Liebster Award – Oh Frabjous Day! Callooh! Callay!


LiebsterAward

So I had every intention of sitting down this weekend and working my butt off to create a new “Liebster Award” picture to use on my blog. I was hoping that I would be able to spell it out in peppers, tomatoes, bacon, and spices. Or, you know, some sort of combination of foods, spices, and plates/forks. But then real life got in the way. Having a full time job, and a major hobby like blogging can be time consuming, and those precious few hours of self-time that you manage to carve out on the weekends are not so easily filled with taking photos of food for frivolous, though quite exciting pursuits. So, perhaps if I get nominated again, I will consider it. But this time, something had to give – and life won out.

liebster-blog-award_3-5The Liebster Award, it turns out, has gone through a strange transformation through the years of it’s existence. I was curious, and did some searching. What I found is that the original (or at least, first mention) Liebster Award asked that the person acknowledge the nominator, then pass on the nomination to 3-5 other blogs, of 300 readers or less. This was “firmed up” to 5 other blogs, at some point subsequently, perhaps as blogging became more popular and bloggers became more likely to have 5+ other blogs that they themselves read.

Liebster Award The Rules - 5

liebster-blog-award_11Then, again at some point afterward, the award transformed again in to the version that I was nominated for. Again, I presume the metamorphoses occurred as the number of blogs increased, and the likelihood was that bloggers were reading more than 11 other blogs. At this point, it also added the “create a post about this” requirement, where there are questions asked and answered. None of this matters, except that I was curious, and I figured that you all would enjoy the fruits of my research. So, without further adieu, I will tell you about my nomination.

I was nominated for The Liebster Award By Ani Danelz of milesforthought.wordpress.com. While it is not actually a requirement to be familiar with your nominator’s blog, it is true in this case. I do frequent Ani’s blog, and am quite familiar with her content. Thank you Ani for nominating me! I am honored by the nomination, and it’s great to know that I am appreciated!! And rather than reproducing what Ani has already done in her own words, you can find out more about Ani here.

Ani’s Questions:

1. What is your favorite post on your blog?
Wow, that’s a really challenging question – I absolutely love my subject matter! But, since I’m being pinned down, I think my favorite post would have to be the first time I accidentally smoked meat in the crock pot. I imagine you readers have noticed this, as I have literally been obsessing over the reproduction and eventual “Formalized” recipe for repeating it. Just as important as the excitement that came out of it, it’s also the first post I ever shared a mistake. As you can imagine, sharing mistakes is not necessarily something a food blogger needs to do… You can find the original post here:
http://urbanpaleochef.com/2013/03/06/slow-cooker-smoked-pork-roast/

2. What are your favorite kinds of blogs to read?This one is less of a challenge. I spend most of my blog-reading time on other food, diet, or lifestyle blogs. I really enjoy “Niche” blogs, which are hyper-specialized. I find the level of creativity it takes to keep a blog alive with a highly limited subject matter fascinating. You will see a few shining examples of that in my nominations. And when I’ve exhausted my food reading for the day, I am most likely to stumble across running blogs of some sort or other. That’s how I found Ani’s blog to begin with.

3. Why do you blog?
Well, it all started with… In truth, I’ve been cooking for friends and family for many years now, and have had compliments heaped on me enough times to start believing that people appreciate my food specifically, and it’s not just appreciation for the fact that they didn’t have to do the cooking themselves. It’s taken me a long time to come to that conclusion, but with much encouragement from my wife I finally agreed to start to share some of my recipes. And once I started to write down the recipes, and people started to read my blog, like, and comment my posts, my motivation took on a life of it’s own. I now find that I am driven to continue my writing.

4. What are you most excited about this spring/summer?
I can’t wait for the summer pig roasts!! I know that seems a bit simplistic. But it’s really true! I love a good pig roast, and now that I’m a food blogger, and have other people to share it with, I just really want to go to a big pig-roast event and share it! Also, there are tons of other food events in NYC in the summer, and I plan on attending as many as possible to share them all with you!
The next on my list would be: I am planning on breaking my life-long 1 mile record this fall. My best time ever, in high school was a 5:26. Since going Paleo, I’ve steadily worked my times back down from a 6:12 in 2008 to a 5:30 last year, and I am salivating to break that 5:26. And, fortunately, I really enjoy speed training! It’s going to be a great summer!

5. What is your favorite song?
There is a 4-way tie for that, being perfectly honest. At any given time, no matter where I am or what the situation is, I will always stop and appreciate, listed below in chronological order, any of the following 4 songs:
Four Seasons, Vivaldi
Come Fly With Me, Frank Sinatra (or recently re-done by Michael Buble)
What A Wonderful World, Louis Armstrong
Sweet Child Of Mine, Guns N’ Roses

6. Is there any food you absolutely will not eat?
I think most of you who are reading this can probably guess… But I’ll go ahead and be blunt about it: Any grain product, or any bean product. I am becoming more and more fanatical about grains and/or beans in any sort of food I ingest. This is by choice, originally, but more and more it is by necessity now. Since I no longer ingest grains or beans at all, any time they wander in to my food, I am severely affected by them.

7. Do you have any bad habits?
Who, me? Of course not… All joking aside: yes, I most certainly do. I am highly critical of myself, my work, and nearly anything that I have a part in. The benefit of that is the quality of work that I produce. The negative: I am unintentionally equally critical of all other people. And to keep this post reasonably readable, I’ll leave it at that.

8. What is your favorite part about yourself?
I would have to say it’s my optimism. I am a glass-half-full kind of person. I love life, people, being with people, sharing with people, food, exercise. I am passionate about passion. I am happy for happiness. And as much as the above several ideas gush with gushiness (I know, not a word), they actually happen to be true!

9. What is your favorite restaurant?
At the moment, it is Hu Kitchen, hands down (http://hukitchen.com/). They make the most delicious, clean, delightful foods sourced from the highest quality producers/farms, and they do it all with a huge smile on their faces! Their food is amazing, and I really love eating there!

10. What is your favorite flavor of frozen yogurt?
Lately my favorite frozen treat has been organic grapes, frozen whole. I’ve been picking them up in the imported foods section, when they have organic grapes, and bringing home a bag to pop in the freezer. Then, when I’m looking for a frozen snack, I’ll pop off a small branch of the frozen grapes and slowly gnaw my way through them. They’re delicious! All the benefits of unprocessed fruit, but frozen!

11. Where have you lived?
Several places. I was born and raised on an old farm in Vermont. We had a 2-acre garden when I was growing up. It was huge, beautiful, and produced amazing vegetables! I loved working the garden with my parents. I lived there until leaving for college, which was in upstate new york. About a 2-hour drive from Ottawa, Canada. From there I moved to Delaware, where I loved for several months before moving to Manhattan for a few weeks while I found my bearings in the NYC area. I quickly realized that the Hudson and Bergen counties of New Jersey were much better suited to a Vermont boy like me, and have lived in either Hudson or Bergen county New Jersey ever since.

11 Nominations:

  1. 365 Days Of Bacon
  2. Noah Matthews
  3. Breaking Bread
  4. Paleo Foodie Kitchen
  5. Health Without Sacrifice
  6. Peaches And Cake
  7. Two Chics And A Blog
  8. Vittle Monster
  9. The Winegetter
  10. Scientifically Delicious
  11. Primal Smoke

And my questions:

  1. Why do you blog?
  2. What is your “Death Row Final Meal”? And why?
  3. In what ways do you consciously contribute to a green planet?
  4. If money was no object, where would you travel first?
  5. If money was no object, who would you bring with you on that first trip?
  6. What do you collect? And why?
  7. If you could have three wishes, what would they be? And why?
  8. Where do you get your blogging inspiration from?
  9. How did you decide what you wanted to be when you grew up? And have you grown up yet?
  10. What is your favorite pass-time?
  11. What is something that you have never done that you would like to try?

And a reminder of the rules of the current generation of the Liebster Award:

liebster-blog-award_11

5 thoughts on “Liebster Award – Oh Frabjous Day! Callooh! Callay!

  1. Pingback: Liebster Award – Oh Frabjous Day! Callooh! Callay! | Paleo Digest

    • These are fantastic! I am SO impressed that you have two other blogs also running! I am almost overwhelmed sometimes with just my one blog (though, admittedly, I obsess about my food). You’re an inspiration with 3!!

Leave a Reply

