What’s for… Breakfast? Apple Sausage and Zucchini Scrambled Eggs with Avocado


AppleSausageEggs1

The meal-time dance that my wife and I go through, every meal-time, is of an endless amount of amusement to me. “What do you want for breakfast?” I asked, bringing coffee to my wife in bed this morning. Yes, I bring her coffee in bed, I cook, and I do the dishes. What can I say? I am particular about how my kitchen is kept – I like everything just so. I think the whole perfectionist attitude, which does not extend far beyond the kitchen for me, is a chef thing. Most people I know who are passionate about their food are equally passionate about their cooking tools. They have a very particular way they like to clean and maintain their pots, pans, crock-pot, knives, cutting boards. It’s not always the same as the way I like my things maintained, but I can appreciate, and learn from their process.

“I don’t know. What do we have?” She always responds. And when I say always, I mean always. It would confuse me if I got a different answer, honestly! So I’ll go through the various choices, usually involving either a cold salad, a Hot & Cold Salad, or some ingredients with eggs. Occasionally we will have some left-over beef or stewed meat from the night before – which I can either serve on it’s own with a side of chopped greens, or chop it up and add to eggs. This morning, she opted for some Apple Sausage. My favorite way to prepare those for a breakfast meal is to chop them up, cook them on high with zucchini or some other green vegetable (celery, onions, etc.), and mix in some eggs with them.

What you’ll need:

  • Chicken Apple Sausage (2 or 3 links)
  • 1 medium Zucchini, chopped
  • 1 tablespoon Coconut Oil
  • 4 eggs
  • 1 medium ripe Avocado

First chop up the Sausage, put it in a pan, and turn the heat on high. I usually buy these and put them directly in the freezer, so chopping it is quite easy. I don’t eat sausages very often, because I can’t control their ingredients. And more importantly, I can’t control the macro-nutrient components – otherwise stated, I don’t have direct control over the fat to meat contents of the sausage, so I generally prefer unprocessed meats. But when I am going to eat a sausage, I have had good results with the Trader Joe’s Chicken Apple Sausage, as well as their Smoked Apple Chardonnay Sausage.

As soon as the sausage is in the pan, chop and add the Zucchini. As I have mentioned many times before, I prefer to prepare as I go. In this case, the sausage shouldn’t really have had a chance to start cooking, since chopping the zucchini shouldn’t take too long. At most, the pan is hot, and the sausage is starting to thaw. Once you’ve added the zucchini, add the coconut oil. These should cook quickly, but to get the process started, go ahead and cover the pan for a few minutes while the sausage thaws, the coconut oil liquifies, and the water vapor can start the cooking process for even the parts that are not directly on the heat.

In no more than 5 minutes of cook time, start stirring vigorously. I like the sausage and zucchini to be lightly browned before I add the eggs. But to make sure that they have an even cook, I keep the heat on high, and stir constantly until there is a relatively uniform browning.

As soon as the zucchini and sausage are browning, add the eggs. I know that some of you like your eggs to be pre-mixed, but I like to crack the eggs right in to the pan. The disadvantage of that is that it’s a bit messy, and it’s quite time sensitive. If I take too long, the sausage and zucchini on the bottom of the pan will burn! But I don’t mind a bit of pressure. Stir the eggs constantly until they’re near cooked, then turn the heat off. I like to leave the pan on the heat, letting the residual heat finish the cooking process. To help, I cover the pan. While the heat is dissipating, and the last little bit of cooking is done, you can slice up the avocado for serving.

AppleSausageEggs

For more “What’s For Dinner?” posts, and like today, “What’s For Breakfast?” keep tuned in to urbanpaleochef.com! If you have comments, requests, or suggestions, please jump in on the comments board!

One thought on “What’s for… Breakfast? Apple Sausage and Zucchini Scrambled Eggs with Avocado

  1. Pingback: What’s for… Breakfast? Apple Sausage and Zucchini Scrambled Eggs with Avocado | Paleo Digest

Leave a Reply

