UPC’s Hot & Cold Salad – With Orange Champagne Muscat Viniagrette


HotAndColdWChampagneMuscat_Mixed

Mmmmmm! Another Hot & Cold Salad today for breakfast! This one, however, was extra special. What made it special? Aside from the fact that I am going nuts for my Hot & Cold Salads (I may actually dedicate a page to them, and post all the variations of the Hot & Cold Salads that I come up with) – I came up with a new and creative idea this morning! So, don’t tell me that creativity is impossible while you’re in the midst of a hectic morning of preparing for work, getting your workout in, cooking breakfast, lunch, and possibly prepping for dinner… If I can do, and still have great creative ideas, then so can you!

Orange Champagne Muscat Viniagarette

HotAndColdWChampagneMuscat_Set

I picked up the Orange Champagne Muscat Vinegar in the picture above at Trader Joe’s a week or two ago. It looked interesting, and I wanted to find a way to use it. But then, as you all noticed, I got on an Apple Cider and Apple Cider Vinegar kick, and had completely forgotten about the Orange Champagne Muscat Vinegar, until this morning. Well, I stumbled across it when I was wondering what I wanted to use as a dressing for my Hot and Cold Salad. “Perfect! I’ve been wanting to use this!” I thought, pulling it and and immediately concocting a quick vinaigrette recipe to satisfy my delayed craving for this delicious vinegar! In case you’re wondering, yes, I actually did have that exact internal dialogue…

Here’s the Hot part:

HotAndColdWChampagneMuscat_Hot

I kept it really simple today. Leftover steak sliced to 1/4 inch slices, crimini mushrooms, and carrots in coconut oil.

Here’s the Cold part:

HotAndColdWChampagneMuscat_Greens

Again, keeping it simple: spring mix baby lettuce, hot-house cucumbers, avocado. I tossed the cold part in the vinaigrette first, then added the hot part and re-tossed it. My wife was too busy gobbling it down to comment.

I wonder if it would be appropriate to post a picture of her empty salad bowl as her comments?

7 thoughts on “UPC’s Hot & Cold Salad – With Orange Champagne Muscat Viniagrette

  1. Pingback: UPC’s Hot & Cold Salad – With Orange Champagne Muscat Viniagrette | Paleo Digest

    • Hi Paulin, thank you for your comment. I am so glad you like the idea!
      I have been really enjoying the Hot & Cold Salads this winter! Take a look around the site – you’ll find several other Hot & Cold Salad recipes!

    • Me too – I love apple cider vinegar! I picked up the Orange Champagne Muscat Vinegar at Trader Joe’s on a whim quite some time ago, and just had the urge to give it a go – made myself a “Petite Vinaigrette” with it, and it was amazing!

Leave a Reply

