Post Workout Hot & Cold Salad


HotAndColdSalad_Mixed

Solid morning workout, great post-workout meal, and quick post. What better way to get a weekend started?

Post Workout Hot & Cold Salad

What you’ll need:

  • Choice Leaf Lettuce, 1 head, chopped (I used Boston Red Oak)
  • 4 Eggs
  • Favorite Egg Flavors
  • Chopped Steak (1/4 lb, left over)
  • Chopped Crimini Mushrooms
  • Chopped Leeks, Half Stalk
  • Seasoning: Ginger, Cumin, and Turmeric

First chop the mushrooms and add them to a pan with about a tablespoon of coconut oil. I like to use crimini for a couple of reasons. I like that they have just a bit more inherent flavor than white mushrooms. I also operate on the assumption (and with fungi, who knows!?) that more color likely means more nutrients. Obviously there are other factors, and flavor is most definitely an important one, but I figure that crimini rather than button, in most cases, is a good trade off. And the price difference is mostly unimportant.

As the mushrooms heat up, chop the end off the leak, cut the stalk in half, and carefully separate all the various parts of the leaf-stalk in to the individual leaves. Now rinse thoroughly to remove all the sandy soil (I try to buy leeks that are not pre-washed or pre-trimmed – see my Have We Lost Our Grit post for more on that…) from the Leeks before chopping to similar size as the mushrooms and add them to the pan. Add the steak last – I am using leftover from last night’s dinner (that’s why it’s 1/4 lb).

I use leftovers a lot. I am of the opinion that if you make great food, there’s no good reason not to use your leftovers! Not only do I re-use the meal portions of my food, but I look for creative ways to use the non-served leftovers too, like the fat trimmings off my steak, or the “goop” (for lack of a better word) left in a pan after cooking steak or pork. Anything that’s left over after a meal can be used somehow, and I pride myself on being creative enough to find good ways to use them! Recently, I discovered that leftover beef bones could be used to smoke a roast in a slow-cooker! You never know what kind of great ideas might pop in to your head when you are looking to re-use something not usually “appetizing”.

HotAndColdSalad_ColdAs the food starts to approach the “cooking” heat and sound (you know what I’m talking about), drop the eggs in and mix thoroughly. I’ve mentioned previously that I prefer not to pre-mix the eggs when I’m cooking something like this. I have no idea why. Maybe it’s the color. Maybe there is a subtle difference in flavor. Who knows! Either way, drop the eggs in, mix them thoroughly, and keep stirring regularly until the eggs are cooked. Now turn the heat off, cover the pan, and prepare the greens for the “Cold” part of the Hot And Cold Salad.

HotAndColdSalad_Mixed

 

And Enjoy!!

2 thoughts on “Post Workout Hot & Cold Salad

  1. Pingback: Post Workout Hot & Cold Salad | Paleo Digest

  2. Pingback: How Do You Fuel The Fire? | Urban Paleo Chef

Leave a Reply

