Baked Bacon Wrapped Shrimp


BaconShrimp-Plated

Baked Bacon Wrapped Shrimp

You ever go to a party, wedding, or other sort of event where there is catering? Bacon Wrapped Shrimp seems to be a go-to hors d’oeuvres for any kind of catered get-together. Why? Because they’re delicious! Well, as it happens I was seriously craving some bacon last night. And since I didn’t have any new super-premium bacon to put together a The Bacon Project post, instead I used the stuff I have already written about to make one of my other favorite hors d’oeuvres – and I loved it!!

BaconShrimp-Plated1What you’ll need:

  • 1lb Wild-Caught Shrimp
  • 1lb Premium Bacon, cut in half

Prep and Cook time: 60 minutes
Serves: 2-6 (6 as an hors d’oeuvre; 2 as a meal)

First cook the shrimp. The shrimp that I buy is frozen (I know, I don’t actually go down to the shrimp boat and purchase it straight off the boat). So the first thing we need to do is to thaw the shrimp and partially cook it. You can do this in a microwave, I guess, but I think it will taste better, and work better, if you use a covered frying pan (no oil needed) or the oven.

Next, some prep-work: We’ll take care of about 3 steps here. First turn the oven on to 450. Second cut the bacon and prep the cutting board. And third put the foil on your baking pan. Each shrimp will use about a half-slice of bacon, which is why we cut the bacon in half. Also, unlike in other meals, it is unnecessary to grease the foil. Bacon comes with plenty of it’s own!!

BaconShrimp_Rolling1Pay attention to the shrimp – once it has evaporated off all of the liquid, turn it off and let it cool. You’re going to be handling the shrimps manually, so you don’t want them to be too hot. As the shrimps cool, touch them occasionally (you should wash your hands regularly while cooking – please do so before touching the shrimp) to find the temperature you’re comfortable with. For me, I let them cool for about 5 minutes before they were cool enough for me to be comfortable working with them.

BaconShrimp-RollingNow take the shrimp out of the pan, one at a time, and roll them in to the bacon. This is a highly manual process. Shrimp, as you know, cooks in a curled shape, so you have to straighten the shrimp out and hold it as you’re rolling it in the bacon. This will end up working to your advantage, though, because the shrimp will hold the bacon in place because of it’s shape. As these are finished, put them on the baking pan.

BaconShrimp-Wrapped

BaconShrimp-Rolling3Once the shrimps are all rolled in bacon, pop the pan in the oven and let them bake! This is a nice and simple recipe, it takes a little prep time, but not much, and the level of deliciousness you get from the final product is amazing!! Let these bake for about 40 minutes. Check regularly, and take them out of the oven when they are just right.

BaconShrimp-Baking

Serving:

If you’re serving these as an hors d’oeuvres they should be placed individually on 1-2 pieces of lettuce greens. If you want these as a meal (this is how I had them, though shown in the photo is how I would serve them as an hors d’oeuvre) then go ahead and treat them as any other meat course. But make sure to eat these immediately out of the oven – they’re best when piping hot and fresh! And finally: Enjoy!

BaconShrimp-Plated1

13 thoughts on “Baked Bacon Wrapped Shrimp

  1. Pingback: Baked Bacon Wrapped Shrimp | Paleo Digest

  2. It’d be a more difficult wrapping job to partially cooked the bacon first and then wrapped uncooked shrimp instead of what you’re suggesting. Wouldn’t the shrimp have a better texture?

    • Hi Mike, thanks for asking! I tried it both ways and I think it’s easier with the bacon raw. But I encourage you to try both ways as well. And the best part will be that you’ll have an excuse to cook it twice!!

    • Well I will endeavor to bring meat dishes to my blog that will make you want to change your mind! And I will continue to put forward great food that can be enjoyed by meat eaters and vegetarians alike – like the mushroom tapenade, and the stir fried veggies!

    • I know! I didn’t want to share it! Fortunately, I made enough to satisfy my craving and still have plenty left for my wife. But it might not have worked out so well if we had planned to use these as an appetizer!

Leave a Reply

