Hot And Cold Salad – Breakfast Style


Breakfast_Hot_and_Cold_SaladI’ve put up a few Hot & Cold Salad posts. I indicated in the first one that they would likely become a major staple in my household. In the second post, I confirmed that they had indeed become an instant hit! But that doesn’t fully qualify the truth. In fact, the Hot And Cold Salad has become a good 40% of my meals. I make a Hot And Cold Salad for breakfast and lunch most days now. I love it! It used to be perfectly normal for me to just eat hot meals fully hot, where every portion of the meal on my plate was cooked, and cold meals fully raw. But with the Hot And Cold Salad, the combination of my raw leafy greens with a cooked meal has been an amazing treat! It’s making winter fly by!

The Breakfast Hot & Cold Salad

Breakfast_Hot_and_Cold_Salad-ThumbWhat you’ll need:

  • The Hot:
  • 4 Eggs
  • Ham, chopped
  • Zuccini, chopped
  • Leeks, Sliced
  • Lemongrass, finely chopped
  • The Cold:
  • Leafy Greens (I used Arugula for this meal, but usually Spring Mix)
  • Cucumber, chopped
  • Sun-Dried Tomato Halves

First, add the chopped ham and lemongrass to a pan with some coconut oil and turn the heat on high. Let this cook for a few minutes, then add the zucchini and leeks. You can also use other good breakfast-salad ingredients like celery, parsnips, mushrooms, or other squashes like yellow squash, pumpkin, and others. I really like making scrambled eggs around celery and mushrooms, so I know that will work.
We’re not adding the eggs just yet, so turn the heat down a bit (medium-low) and let this cook for a bit to pull the liquid from the ingredients. You want the food to be sticky, almost, so that the eggs have no trouble binding to the ingredients.

Once the Hot portion is cooking, you can turn your attention to prepping the Cold portion of the salad. As I said above: I like to let the Hot part cook while I prep the Cold part. So, take out the greens you’ll be using. For today’s breakfast, I used Arugula. I really like the crisp flavor of arugula, it’s a great breakfast green. If I didn’t have any arugula, I would most likely use a spring mix, to take advantage of the red leaf lettuce that they provide, or I would make my own mix combining Boston Red Oak lettuce with whatever green leaf lettuce was most appetizing on the produce shelf; probably not romaine or iceberg.
Add the chopped cucumbers and sun-dried tomatoes to a bowl. Instead of sun-dried tomatoes, you could use bell peppers (and definitely toasted bell peppers!) or any of your normal cold-salad ingredients.

Now turn your attention back to the Hot portion. These should be ready for the eggs after 5 minutes, or so, of cook time. If your prep of the Cold salad took that long or longer, you can stir it, and add the eggs immediately. I personally prefer to mix the eggs in the pan, but that’s just my style. If you prefer to mix the eggs ahead of time, that’s fine too. Mix the eggs in thoroughly.

Serving

You already put the salad greens and other Cold ingredients in a bowl as the salad base, now add the eggs. Serve, and enjoy!

Tell me what ingredients you use for your morning Hot & Cold Salad!

9 thoughts on “Hot And Cold Salad – Breakfast Style

  1. Pingback: Hot And Cold Salad – Breakfast Style | Paleo Digest

  2. I love salads, I actually get a health rush after eating them. Or maybe it is my imagination. Real or not it doesn’t matter…

    • Agreed! I eat salad twice in a typical day – breakfast and lunch. They’re great, filling, and not “heavy” – what could be better?!?

      And you know: if the “health rush” is a placebo effect, that’s fine too! I’ll take feeling good, whether “placebo” or real is entirely irrelevant!

  3. This is a great idea. I love it. We are always struggling with new ideas and this is a great way to get more greens in. And thanks for stopping by my blog I will have to check out the TJ shrimp you mentioned. We have a TJ’s not far from my home.

    • Thanks! I have really come to rely on the Hot & Cold Salad as a household staple – sometimes I wonder why it took me so long to come up with it!! I just don’t like to cook the leafy greens as much; but the flavor of freshly cooked meat with some cooked mushrooms and other flavor ingredients is just too good to pass up. We probably have a Hot & Cold Salad, so far this winter, 1-2 times per day.
      Glad the shrimp suggestion is well received! It’s really a great source of wild-caught shrimp, and I am eternally thankful to Trader Joe’s for making that available to me!

  4. I recently heard a trainer say that salads were not manly food. guess I’m girly because I love saladsand this one sounds awesome! I’ll sub the ham for nother protein but that is simple! Thanks for an insoiring and yummy recipe!

Leave a Reply

