What’s For Dinner?


Bunless Burger

Photo courtesy of gabbyandlaird.com

I have a major craving for burgers. Don’t worry, I’m not talking about those trans-fat franken-burgers served at fast-food chains everywhere. No, when I get a craving for a burger, what I typically have in mind is something which would be better described as an artisan burger. I want hand-ground sirloin tips, hand-mixed, and grilled to perfection with a slightly crisped exterior, and a pink interior. I want it to have flavor ingredients mixed right in to the meat of the burger, like chopped cilantro and caramelized onions! So tonight, you get the benefit of putting together my go-to Serious Craving Burger! I hope you enjoy it as much as I always do!

Ben And Jack's Steakhouse Burger

Photo courtesy of me!

Urban Paleo Chef’s Crave Burger and Side Salad

What you’ll need:

  • 1 lb grass-fed ground beef
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 1 medium onion, chopped and caramelized
  • 4 oz mushrooms, caramelized
  • 2 tablespoons finely chopped cilantro
  • Spices: salt/pepper as desired

Prep and Cook time: About 45 minutes

First, you’ll be caramelizing the onions and mushrooms. Start by chopping the mushrooms to no larger than 1-inch. Add these to a fry pan with about a tablespoon of coconut oil, 1/4 cup of water, and cover. Cook on high for about 3 minutes, or until the water is entire evaporated – pay close attention, and reduce heat immediately to medium-low, or about 3 on a 10 scale.

While the mushrooms are cooking, chop the onions to a slightly smaller size than the mushrooms. About 2 minutes after you reduce the heat on the mushrooms, add the onions to the pan and stir them in completely, covering again. Leave these to cook for about 15 minutes, checking on them and stirring every 3-5 minutes or so. It’s not terrible if they overcook a bit, but you don’t want them crisped.

While the mushrooms and onions are cooking, start the burger mix. In a large mixing bowl, beat the egg, then add the spices you’ll be using, including the chopped cilantro (I always use fresh cilantro if possible), and mix them in to the egg. Add the beef to the mixing bowl next, and wait for the mushrooms and onions to finish.

Once the Onions and Mushrooms are done, add them to the bowl and mix thoroughly, making sure that the eggs, beef, and flavoring ingredients are well mixed in. Now take a handful of the beef out and roll it in to a ball in your hands. I always mix these by hand – don’t forget to wash! Once the burger is a ball, flatten it out a bit, until it resembles the “Burger” shape that you’re looking to end up with. It’s ok if your burger is a little more round than flat – I prefer not to end up with a “patty” style end product.

Cook the burgers! If you have a grill, you know what to do. Otherwise, I suggest cooking on medium heat in a covered frying pan for about 5 minutes per side.

While the burgers are cooking, assemble the salad. I like to use a salad mix when I’m eating burgers, because the truth is that I’ll barely remember the salad, but the mixes often have multi-colored leaves, so they’re better looking on a plate! I like to add a few ingredients which I won’t be adding to the burger, so in this case, I’ll be adding sun-dried tomatoes, celery, and sliced yellow or orange pepper, and I’ll use a home-made red wine dressing for my salad dressing (Red Wine Dressing Recipe here). The red-wine dressing will be a nice compliment to the burger.

Serving:

Serve the salad first, immediately followed by the burger. I will be adding a few slices of avocado to my burger tonight; I think the extra flavor is excellent! Be careful with what you put on this burger though, you don’t want to overwhelm the flavors of the caramelized onions and mushrooms cooking in to the burger. They’re great!

And finally: Enjoy!! I hope you all try this tonight! I look forward to hearing about it in the comments section!

Leave a Reply

