What’s For Dinner?


BakedChicken

Baked Chicken Breast with Cilantro Sauce, Steamed Baby Carrots, Bacon Mashed Sweet Potatoes

So, like with some of my previous “What’s For Dinner?” posts, I didn’t have a photo to share what I have in mind for dinner tonight. So I was surfing the web, looking around for some photos of Baked Chicken, and all I could find was pictures of chicken so caked in other stuff that it is essentially unrecognizable! Fortunately, I did finally manage to find the above photo, courtesy of a Forbes.com article about foods that readers should memorize. I’ll be honest, food that looks like that is definitely worth paying attention to!

Baked Chicken Breast with Cilantro Sauce:

What you’ll need:

    • Chicken breast, skin on
    • Coconut oil, salt, pepper
    • Cilantro Sauce (Recipe here)

If you don’t have some Cilantro Sauce already made, take a look at the Cilantro Sauce recipe, and put some of that together ahead of time. As I mention in the Cilantro Sauce recipe post, it’s better when it has some time to sit. This should be served over the top of the chicken when it’s done.

Now I have to jump around a bit, because the Bacon Mashed Sweet Potatoes need to be started first.

Start the meal with Bacon Mashed Sweet Potatoes from the recipe page. This dish takew approximately 1 hour to prepare and cook, so it needs to be prepared first.

Start the chicken about 30 minutes before dinner. First preheat the oven to 450. Then apply the coconut oil to the chicken. The lightly season it with some salt and pepper, remember, the primary flavor for the dish will be the Cilantro Sauce, so spice lightly. As soon as the oven is ready, pop the chicken in and let it cook.

Now steam the Carrots. Also, if you’re following the Bacon Mashed Sweet Potatoes recipe, now is probably about the right time to start the bacon. Now back to the steamed carrots: regardless of the type of carrot you choose (baby, young, large) the steaming is the same. I like baby carrots for this because they’re already bite sized, and so require no additional work on my part.

The carrots will be ready first. I put them in a strainer for a moment, then transfer them to a serving dish. The Bacon Mash should be ready next. I put the mash in a serving dish, then cover it with the bacon. And finally the chicken.

Serving:

Plate the chicken first. As soon as the chicken is on the plate, drizzle the Cilantro Sauce over the top.This will allow the Cilantro Sauce to run down the chicken while you plate the carrot and bacon mash. So, now plate the bacon mash and carrots, and serve!

For more Urban Paleo Chef meal ideas, thoughts, and recipes, check back weekdays daily for my “What’s For Dinner?” posts! Also, please comment with feedback, comments, suggestions, questions, and any recipe or meals that you would like to see me do.

5 thoughts on “What’s For Dinner?

    • Thanks!! I’m always happy to know that my ideas are working to make other Paleo eaters have a better time with their meals. And, truthfully, my meals are Paleo in design, but should work for any non-vegetarian meal.

      Really? You think I could do a cook book? Thanks!!

  1. Pingback: What’s For Dinner? | Urban Paleo Chef

Leave a Reply

