Herb Roasted Pork Shoulder, Olive Oil Tossed Stir Fry Veggies, and UPC Twisted Greens


PorkShoulder_StirFriedVeggies_TwistedSalad-Plated

So how many of you tried this last night? Well, I certainly did, and it came out amazing!! I have to admit, though, that I had to do some thinking on my feet, which I am going to tell you about here in this post. It’s natural, and normal, for a chef to need to be able to think on their feet. How many times have you been planning on making one thing, but then run out of a key ingredient (or drop it on the floor…)? I do it all the time! Err… Run out of the ingredients, that is. One morning I was making breakfast for myself, my wife, and some house guests, and they were begging and pleading for bacon, even though we didn’t have any. Rather than jumping in the car and heading to the grocery store, I made my own. Here’s how I did it, in case any of you think you would like to try it: I grabbed some cooked ham which we did have, and cut it to approximately bacon sized strips. I threw that in a pan with some coconut oil, and used bacon salt as a flavoring. It came out great! And that was thinking on my feet. Well, last night’s meal, and the instructions that I included, required me to do some thinking on my feet. And to ensure that you don’t have to do that the next time you go looking for this meal: I am going to make certain that the actual Recipe post has the updated instructions.

Herb Roasted Pork Shoulder:PorkShoulder_StirFriedVeggies_TwistedSalad

Wow, this was delicious! I don’t know what size cut of meat you used, but mine was about a 5.5 pound, bone-in cut of meat. It was quite large, and the 60 minutes of cooking I instructed was not nearly enough. In fact, another 30 minutes still wasn’t enough. The pieces you see in the plate above are both end pieces, which were sufficiently cooked to serve me and my wife. But if I had had guests, I would have been in trouble! It turned out that it needed 2 full hours of roasting before it was ready, which I know because I kept it going while we were eating the end pieces. Now, that was roasting uncovered, so it could have been quicker if I had left it covered. If, on the other hand, I had cut the pieces in half, and laid them side by side, so that it was 3 inches thick, or so, instead of 6 inches, it would have been just right in 60 minutes!

Olive Oil Tossed Toasted Vegetables:StirFriedVeggies

These were delicious! I decided, at the last minute, to add parsnips to the mix, because I love parsnips. The flavor was incredible! I made 2 errors in my instructions last night. First, I cooked this for a solid 10 minutes on high heat, stirring constantly. The 2 minutes I recommended last night were not nearly enough. Also, it turned out that the carrots cooked more slowly than any other vegetable in the dish. I would guess that this is mostly due to the young age of the carrots, but whatever the reason, I ended up taking everything out of the pan, and putting the carrots back in for a good 5 more minutes, after everything else was finished. So in my Recipe post for this (and yes, I will post a recipe for the toasted veggies as a side dish) I will recommend that the carrots be put in first, alone, for 3-5 minutes, and then add everything else for another 10.

UPC Twisted Greens:UPCTwistedGreens

Well, this came out just right, following the directions exactly. So I have nothing to add here. If you want to make this again, but add to it, or change the flavor, here are some additional ingredients which would not take away from the food: Parsnips, Cilantro leaves, fresh Rosemary (not dried!). I know you see me using parsnips a lot, right? Well, there are two good reasons for that. First, I really like them. They’re a great root vegetable, with a really unique flavor which goes with almost everything. Raw, they can spice up a salad adding both color and flavor. Cooked, they can be sweet, like a sweet potato, or they can add a sharp flavor to a dish, like celery and cilantro. They’re great! Also, they’re currently in season. As for cilantro leaves and rosemary: they would both enhance the flavor of the dish, and neither would detract from it. They’re great ingredients for the right dish, and this is one of those.

I hope you loved it! For more meal ideas, check back every day for my daily Urban Paleo Chef’s What’s For Dinner?

One thought on “Herb Roasted Pork Shoulder, Olive Oil Tossed Stir Fry Veggies, and UPC Twisted Greens

  1. Pingback: Using Citrus | Urban Paleo Chef

Leave a Reply

