Scrambled Eggs – A Simple Morning Treat


EggsMushroomsZucciniAhh, eggs for breakfast this morning. It can a simple meal, sometimes nostalgic, and can be incredibly satisfying. There are 100 million variations on how to put them together, and each chef has their own preferred method. In fact, each person has their own preferred style, and that’s partly why there are so many ways to eat them. Ok, perhaps 100 million variations is a bit of an exaggeration, but you get the idea, right? So, how did I do my eggs this morning? And why so much talk about simple meals from a chef? I’m glad you asked.

Today’s eggs were quite simple. I took a handful of mushrooms and sauteed them in ample amounts of coconut oil. The flavor of coconut oil on a stir fry or an egg is incredible – very subtle and hard to detect, but the slight sweetness is excellent. While the mushrooms were sizzling quietly away, I pulled out a zucchini, and chopped it up in to large pieces, approximately 1 inch square. I did one whole zucchini for 2 people, and a similar amount of mushrooms. For me, they both amount to a large handful of chopped food, but less than 2 handfuls. I don’t usually worry too much about measuring, though I suppose I will have to get in the habit of it when writing up actual recipes for this site. More to come on that later…

I tended the pan for a few minutes, making certain that all of the vegetables were well coated in the coconut oil, and there was just a trace of oil on the surface of the pan. Any more and the oil will take over the flavor of the food; but less and the eggs will stick, requiring vigorous stirring. So, when I do scrambled eggs, I do some things a bit differently than most chefs: I generally do scrambled eggs when I am adding large chopped vegetables, particularly if I like the flavor of the vegetable, since an omelet often hides the flavors. Also, I typically do not whisk the eggs in a bowl, I will crack them directly in to the pan, and stir them vigorously in the pan until they are mixed directly with the vegetables. There are quite a few personal-preference reasons for these differences. But a few would make sense immediately: I don’t have to worry about a customer complaining that the consistency or color of their eggs is “weird”. Also, I find that I like the slightly varied color of the white mixed with the yellow. I find that it’s appetizing for me. But, as usual, everything comes down to the combination of preference, presentation, and flavor. And the way I prepared my eggs this morning was based on my preferences, my presentation, and the way I like to showcase the flavors. The flavors of today’s breakfast, again, being the mushrooms and zucchini.

And here they are!

Leave a Reply

